Share on FacebookShare on TwitterPin it on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare via email

Antarctica is the 5th largest of the seven continents. You will find it south of the Antarctic Circle at 66 degrees latitude. Antarctica covers the South Pole and is roughly twice the size of Australia. In the dark of winter the ocean around Antarctica also freezes which doubles its size.

Some more facts about Antarctica:

  • Antarctica is the southernmost continent on Earth.
  • The South Pole is found in Antarctica.
  • Antarctica is surrounded by the Southern Ocean.
  • Antarctica is bigger than Europe and almost double the size of Australia.
  • Most of Antarctica is covered in ice over 1.6 kilometres thick (1 mile).
  • Because it experiences such little rain, Antarctica is considered a desert.
  • The coldest recorded temperature on Earth occurred in 1983 at Vostok Station, Antarctica, measuring a rather chilly −89.2 °C (−128.6 °F).
  • While humans don’t permanently reside in Antarctica, several thousand people live and work at various research facilities found on the continent.
  • While Antarctica features harsh living conditions, a number of plants and animals have adapted to survive and call the icy continent home.
  • The name ‘Antarctica’ comes from a Greek word meaning ‘opposite to the north’.
  • Around 90% of the ice on Earth is found in Antarctica.
  • Sea levels would rise around 60m (200ft) if all the ice in Antarctica were to melt.